Jessica & Blue – A ‘Remember Me’ Shoot, Essex

A couple of weeks back I had quite an urgent message from Jessica to tell me that sadly, she was going to have to have her special boy put to sleep and she was hoping that I would be able to fit them in for a shoot before she had to say goodbye.

So I went over to meet Jessica and Blue, in Brentwood, the other week and capture some lasting memories for her.

Blue, or ‘Blobsta’ as he was regularly nicknamed, was a ten year-old Dutch Warmblood and Jessica had owned him since he was four. Not only was he huge, but he certainly had a character to match. He had a personality that you just instantly fall in love with.

During their time together, Jessica and Blue had plenty of ups and downs, including various medical problems. “He taught me everything I know – how to ride, how to cling on for dear life and the quick guide to becoming a vet!”

But when he was just seven years-old Blue began going lame with worrying frequency. Following a series of complications Jessica was forced to make the hardest decision any horse ownerever has to make and end his suffering.

“He was the most loving horse ever, I could literally kiss him all day long,” Jessica tells me. “It just wasn’t fair to put him through anymore stress and pain, as he was never going to be 100% sound. But I can honestly say that everyone that met him had a kind word to say about him, people would comment how beautiful he was wherever he went!”

And I can attest to that. He was a natural poser and the camera loved him. He was in my pockets and demanding cuddles from the moment I arrived and it was an absolute pleasure to be able to capture these memories for you, Jessica. I hope I have done him justice for you.

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, Remember Me Shoots. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

