Victoria & Jacques – Equine Photography, Ashfields Carriage and Polo Club, Essex

Meet Victoria and Jacques. ‘Jacques’ is pronounced Jack, but for reasons unbeknownst to Vicki, whoever named Jacques decided that he deserved to be posher than the average Jack. I asked if perhaps he was French or bred in France. But no. He is a British Warmblood and his registered name is Langdale Audante. Lol.

Anyhow… Last week, I had the great pleasure of working with this lovely pair on a very chilly February morning. When Victoria and I were discussing plans for this shoot, she said to me, as many of my clients do, ‘ I’m not sure how photogenic we are, but it would be lovely to have some nice pics.’ And then, after the shoot, she sent me a message simply saying ‘Can’t believe how amazing he was!’

The large majority of my clients assume that, even though I’ve never walked away from a shoot without the images I wanted to capture, their horse will be the one to break the trend. They work themselves up about it, fret about it in the lead up to their shoot, until by the time I get there, they’ve convinced themselves (and proceed to try to convince me, as soon as I get out of my car) that they aren’t photogenic, their horse is the devil incarnate and this will probably be a disaster. And I just love it when they are then pleasantly surprised at how relaxed and easy the whole thing is! 🙂 Within five minutes, they’ve forgotten I’m even taking photographs and their horse has taken to the whole thing like a duck to water. And it’s SO satisfying for me, as their photographer!

Well, Jacques absolutely ADORED the camera. I’m pretty sure he thinks he’s found a new vocation, now that somebody has finally realised his potential as a supermodel. 😉 He really made us laugh.

Victoria keeps her handsome chap at the incredibly beautiful Ashfields Carriage and Polo Club, in Great Canfield. I’ve been to the venue for shows a few times, but I didn’t realise it had a livery yard. The place is fairly new and so incredibly well done. With it’s gorgeous brickwork, archways and old fashioned, internal stabling, not to mention the sprawling driveway. I felt like a kid in a sweet shop!

Jacques is looking fab for his twenty-two years and has been with Victoria for three years in June. Vicki tells me that it’s been a bit of a rough ride at times, with lots of tears and trials. When she first bought him, he hadn’t done a lot for a few years, as his old owner had a young family and didn’t have the time to do him justice. And Victoria admits that buying him probably wasn’t a sensible decision at the time.

However, it seems that the pair have come through the other side of their troubles now and Jacques has mellowed as he’s gotten older. “He really is now my best friend. He has taught me so much, I thought I was knowledgeable but clearly not,” Vicki tells me. Lol.

The pair have their first dressage test next month and Vicki would like to do some veteran showing classes with him, in the summer. I’m sure he will do fabulously, as he looks super for his age.

I wish you every success, Vicki. He’s such a charming chap and made my job so easy. Thank you so much for having me.

If you’re thinking of booking a shoot for your horses, this year, I am fast getting booked up for Spring and Summer 2016, so get in touch asap to avoid disappointment. 🙂

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, Standard Shoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

