#Throwback: Rosie & Pongo – Equine Photography, Essex

This was a shoot I did right back in 2012, long before I started blogging, but it still remains one of my absolute favourites, so I decided to do a little throwback, as I felt it deserved some space on my blog.

It isn’t only the photographs that made this shoot so special. Pongo, or ‘Redwings Master Blaster’, as he is more formally known, has one of the most heart-warming stories of all of the horses I’ve ever photographed.

As his showname would suggest, Pongo is a Redwings rescue pony. He was reported to the charity in March 2009 when he was found tethered by the side of the road.

When a Redwings field officer went to investigate, she found that his headcollar was so tight that it had become embedded in his head, leaving a gaping wound. (See picture below.) 

Thankfully, Pongo’s owner was caught and prosecuted and after emergency treatment on site, Pongo was taken back to the Redwings Ada Cole Rescue Centre, near Harlow, in Essex to recover and receive further medical attention.

Before long, Rosie and her mum Sam, spotted Pongo and snapped him up. This little rescue pony has gone from strength to strength, winning Reserve Champion in the In-Hand Piebald and Skewbald Championship at the Suffolk Show and qualifying for the Royal International.

As you can see, Rosie and Pongo’s story is pretty inspiring and with these snowy images being some of my all time favourites, I just felt that it deserved some space on my blog.

Forecasters are predicting a very snowy winter this year, with snow a possibility from November through until March!! So I will soon be putting names onto a waiting list for snow photoshoots. I will be limited to clients within Essex, the shoots will be booked on a first come, first served and will likely be organised fairly last minute. So, keep an eye out on my Facebook page, if you’d love to have your horses photographed in the snow and get your name down quickly.

If you’d be interested in purchasing an equine photoshoot gift voucher for somebody for Christmas, go to http://tinyurl.com/ntezcur.

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, My Favourite Stories, Standard Shoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

