Alyce & Dita – Equine Photography, Kent

I know that there are quite a few of you out there who are regular readers of my social media and blog, and who really enjoy hearing the stories behind each of my clients and their horses. I’ve seen people comment that it’s like a collection of equine short stories, or a horsey soap opera… So, I know that this particular story is going to really tug at your heartstrings!

When Alyce was just nineteen years-old, she went through more than many of us will go through in a lifetime. She suffered a massive pulmonary embolism (blood clots on the lungs), a terrifying seven cardiac arrests, a stroke and she needed five units of blood, to keep her alive. I think it’s safe to say that Alyce is incredibly lucky to still be here.

To add insult to injury she had also lost her previous job and her old pony, whom she adored, all in the same year.

So when she saw and fell in love with Thoroughbred x Appaloosa yearling, Dita, her parents bought her for Alyce’s twenty-first birthday. Dita, who’s showname is Bullies Bandita, is now five years old. She is the great, great, great granddaughter of the famous Secretariat and is a beautiful roan varnish snowflake colour, although I’m told that her coat changes both seasonally and yearly.

Unbelievably, when Alyce bought Dita and was given her passport, she was astonished to find out that Dita had been born on the same day as her old mare had passed away! If that isn’t fate, I don’t know what is!! I got goosebumps when she told me that.

After having been told never to ride again, Alyce has competed with Dita in local level, in-hand, ridden, English and western showing and games together and enjoy hacking around the beautiful Kent countryside as well as a spot of jumping. Dita is really quite a character and was absolutely convinced that I had something yummy that I wasn’t sharing, throughout the shoot.

Clearly, after such traumatic health issues, Dita has played a huge part in Alyce’s recovery. Alyce booked this shoot for her twenty-fifth birthday and I think it was such a fitting milestone, to celebrate their time together, their unbreakable bond, Alyce’s health. And Alyce, I wish you both a continued happy and healthy future together. Thank you for having me and for sharing your story.

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Kent, Equine Photoshoots, My Favourite Stories, Standard Shoots. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

