Becky & Dubai – Remember Me Shoot, Essex

Gah, I don’t even want to write this blog, because I know that right now, her heart is breaking and I feel like this might make it that much worse. But hopefully it will, in some small way, also make it a little better.

I first photographed Becky and Dubai, as part of a group shoot. Dubai is such a character. He is cheeky and has a great sense of humour, but he’s also a big, gentle giant with the kindest eye. I really loved working with him last summer and capturing his personality on my camera.

So, when Becky messaged me at the beginning of the summer and asked to arrange a Remember Me shoot for the end of summer, I was so sad for her. But we booked it in and I put it to the back of my mind.

Then Becky got in touch again and told me that we were going to have to bring the shoot forward, as Dubai wasn’t doing so good and had been booked in with the vet, for the inevitable, for the first week in July.

Becky keeps Dubai at my old livery yard and we have a lot of mutual friends, so I feel like I know these two outside of the ordinary photographer/client relationship (although, to be honest, I feel like so many of my clients do go on to become friends) and I am totally devastated that Becky has had to make this decision for her big, beautiful boy, that I’m writing this with tears in my eyes and a huge lump in my throat.

Dubai was sadly put to sleep, at the grand age of 31, last Friday, due to a variety of ailments, not least being his asthma, which had worsened with the warmer weather. I know that he and Becky shared an unbreakable bond over the seven years they had together, as he’d helped her through health problems and was the ever-trustworthy, unshakeable horse she needed at a difficult time.

These shoots are always incredibly difficult, but I feel extra invested in Becky and Dubai’s story and I’m just gutted to be writing this. Goodbye and God bless to a gorgeous, vibrant boy who was loved so deeply. And love and hugs to Becky, who has been incredibly brave and selfless for her special chap.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m off to have a little cry and a cup of tea.

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, My Favourite Stories, Remember Me Shoots. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

