The Essential Survival Guide to Living With A Horse Owner

Survival Guide to Living with a Horse Owner - Sophie Callahan Photography

1. Learn to deal with the smell of dirty boots. Otherwise you might as well just quit right    now. Because no matter where you put them; in the cupboard, on the porch, outside the    back door… you will still smell them. There is no escape.

2. Accept that there will be more photos of the horse around the house than of anyone else.

3. Accept that the house will be untidy most of the time, because she needs to spend time  making her horse’s bed nice. Your carpet might be in desperate need of a clean, but you  can bet there won’t be a shaving or a wisp of straw out of place in that stable.

4. Know that once she arrives at the yard, time speeds up. Three hours at the yard feels  like five minutes. And yes, mucking out and one cup of tea really does take that long!

Survival Guide to Living with a Horse Owner - Sophie Callahan Photography

5. Weekends are not down time or quality couple time. They’re horse time.

6. As are evenings.

7. And any other spare waking moment!

8. NEVER make her choose between you and her horses. Not even as a joke. You won’t like  the answer.

9. No, those carrots are not for your Sunday roast. They’re for the horse! Anyway, what  Sunday roast? She’ll be busy riding!

Survival Guide to Living with a Horse Owner - Sophie Callahan Photography

10. Horse hair and bits of loose hay add to the character of your home.

11. Your wife hasn’t bought herself a pair of new shoes in years, but the horse has new  shoes every six weeks. That’s just the way it is.

12. Here is a valuable life lesson for you… You can fix everything with bailing twine!

13. Horses are like chocolates… you can’t just have one.

14. Whether it’s for her birthday, anniversary, Valentines day or Christmas… Learn where your local tack shop is. Every gift she wants is in there!

Survival Guide to Living with a Horse Owner - Sophie Callahan Photography

15. No, she doesn’t want to go camping in a tent, but yes, she’s happy to sleep on  the floor of a horsebox at an away show. It’s a totally different thing.

16. Never question whether or not riding is a sport. And if you dare voice that you think it’s easy, be prepared to put your money where your mouth is and be prepared for a whole world of pain in muscles you never even knew existed.

17. She hauls bales of straw and controls a half ton animal, daily. Try not to piss her off!

18. Your children will ride horses. Yes, even the boys. Just don’t even question it.

Survival Guide to Living with a Horse Owner - Sophie Callahan Photography

19. It’s going to be an education, because she’ll talk about her horse a lot and at first, you’ll  have no idea what she’s on about. But you’ll learn.

20. Get used to her car being like a mobile tack-room. You won’t change it, no matter how  many times you comment on the mess, grimace at the amount of mud or point out the  local car wash.

21. Forget the idea of having any spare money. What’s yours is hers and what’s hers is her  horse’s. So, in short, what’s yours is her horse’s, too.

22. The best thing you can do is to learn to love her horses as much as you love her.

 

Or, you could just follow the advice my other half gave, when I asked him for his input on this blog… “Don’t get involved with them!”

Charming. 😉 Obviously, he’s totally kidding! He loves living with me, really!

I’d love to hear if you have any other advice for these long suffering men of ours. 🙂

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

This entry was posted in Confessions of a Horse Lover, Most Popular, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Essential Survival Guide to Living With A Horse Owner

  1. Tracy says:

    LOVE THIS! Just shared it with over 5,000 people who follow our company : )

    Tracy
    Spanish Horse Tack
    Custom Horse Tack for All Breeds
    Handmade by 3 Generations of Master Leather Craftsmen

  2. June Leonora says:

    Laughed and laughed. Every word is true. Got into this late in life and luckily I was divorced. I have an injured back now (not horse related) and my friend looks after Sav. I miss it so much.

  3. Karen says:

    Absolutely true !! (Check with first husband!!!)

  4. Kim Wright says:

    and I don’t see a problem with any of that!

  5. Julie says:

    My husbands reply to horse people/me “Horse people are all crazy!”

  6. Ben Freegard says:

    You forgot a few…… As was my experience, you will learn that horse poo is completely acceptable compared to all other animals, you WILL learn to clear it up and when you do stand in that stable with a giant folk in your hand, you will think “I never used to deal with this type of **** before”

  7. Tara says:

    Love it , told my husband when I met him , my horse was around before him and would be around after him , he is now my ex husband and I still have my beautiful mare she is 26 and I have had her 21 years married lasted 16 lol xx

    • Suzanne says:

      Awww how lovely, you knew your mare would be there for you. I am lucky my man is now fully converted and rides on his own if I am late back. Hes a complete convert, I am so lucky. I take heed of your message and he is at work, I will let him know about your message and thank you so much for sharing your story. We even bought my sisters horse from her so we can hack together and he is a natural, dam him my 6ft 2 welshman xx

  8. Victoria says:

    #23 the kids dinner is pasta and sauce, in a tupperware box, eaten in the car on the way to the yard as you don’t have time to cook and do the club runs and the horses. 😃

  9. Dylan Masson says:

    Or as my wife just posted, marry a horse person husband. We have our three Gypsies, and four minis, and my office knows that I may be late if the barn work takes longer than usual in the morning.

  10. Terry says:

    Its not only like that for women men feel like that to or more so I know i do,,,

  11. Matt says:

    A bit sexist to think it’s just women who love their horses.

  12. katie muggleton says:

    Bang on! My engagement ended before the wedding because of his jealousy towards my 3 babies… That and the fact he could not understand why I kept telling him I would give up work before the horses to have a family! Good riddence! Lol xxxx

  13. avandarre says:

    You really need an independent, confident spouse if you’re an obsessed horse lover. I was lucky that my husband embraced my hobby even though I acquired it after we’d been together a few years.

    On the list, you forgot to add:
    23. Embrace your new role as camera man and horse holder.
    24. All future vacations will involve horses in some capacity. Either on the vacation, or worrying about the ones at home.

  14. Kodi says:

    My husband actually became addicted to riding after he met me. Now he follows me to eventing competitions, and I follow him to endurance races. It’s a win-win!

  15. Carolyn.zacharuk says:

    Truer words have never been spoken!

  16. Suzanne says:

    I am so lucky, a few weeks after dating he started mucking out then he started riding my mare. After he fell off her for not respecting her strenngth, he got on another mare a cob, but she was very goey that day, he then has never looked back and after only a year of riding (hacking and pointers by me), now is let loose on our 17.1hh andalusian and hacks the original mare out. He is such a horseman and has no fear of them, even tacks up if we are chasing time. So your post was just brilliant thanks xx

  17. Due to my singing I could just exchange the word ‘horses’ for ‘singing’ – it’d suit nearly perfectly 🙂 Although, one line is so much me already 😉 “yes, she’s happy to sleep on the floor of a horsebox…” ANYTIME – thank you Sophie xoxo

    *shared on fb, girl !

  18. Joy says:

    Never admit to #11. Then after all that, have him come out to watch you like Pat did on Thurs and he’ll be bragging about you for months!!!! Key West in 2 days is going to be GOOD. That was great timing!

Leave a Reply

