Essex Farmers and Union Hunt – New Year’s Day, Maldon

new years day hunt maldon

 

Start as you mean to go on.

This year, one of my goals is to photograph horses in a whole variety of situations. I want to explore different equestrian disciplines, traditions, breeds, types, colours… etc.

My horsey world, both personal and professional, has mostly revolved around showing, and the showing community has been instrumental in getting my equine photography journey out of the starting gates, for which I’m eternally grateful, but I know that there is so much more to the equine industry and I want to discover it in 2015.

I want to explore the role that horses play in modern society, in entertainment, the jobs they do, their versatility, their hardiness. I want to find inspiration in other sectors of this industry, learn about other areas of our sport and capture it all on camera. For no other reason than I will enjoy doing so and I hope that it will help me grow as an equine photographer.

If anybody might be able to point me in the right direction and help with this goal, I’d be so grateful. Some of the things I’d love to photograph this year include horseball, vaulting, endurance, polo, pony racing, point to point, driving, the cavalry, rare breeds, unusually coloured or marked horses… Pretty much anything that I haven’t photographed before. I’m totally open to ideas.
(I’m not an event photographer, so I do not want to attend events as the official photographer!)

One thing I’ve always wanted to do was photograph the hunt parading up Maldon High Street on New Year’s Day. Every year I want to do it, and every year something gets in the way. This year, I was determined.

So, yesterday, I started as I mean to go on. I dragged Sam out of bed much earlier than he would have liked and we went to watch the hunt. What a turn out…

Essex Farmers and Union Hunt

Essex Farmers and Union Hunt

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon side saddle

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

 

new years day essex hunt maldon

maldon blue boar hunt

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

 

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

 

new years day hunt maldon

 

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

 

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

 

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

new years day essex hunt maldon

 

 

If you liked this post, why not check out my social media pages for more…

     sophie callahan instagram

 

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, Out & About, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

