Hayley, Lottie, Jessica, Poppy & baby donkey – Donkey Photoshoot, Surrey

donkey photography surrey

Ok, I know what I want for Christmas, Mum!! A baby donkey. An adorable, fluffy, cheeky baby donkey. Just like this one!

Back in May I ran a donkey photoshoot giveaway, on Facebook my page, to celebrate World Donkey Day. The lucky winners were five year old Lottie and her donkey, Poppy.

When I contacted Lottie’s mum, Hayley, to arrange their shoot, she told me that Poppy was in foal and we agreed to wait until the baby had arrived, to schedule our shoot. And I’m so glad we did. I’m smitten!

Hayley tells me that Poppy came to be a part of the family when her father-in-law went out to purchase a goat. Travellers persuaded him that a donkey was the way to go, instead, and he agreed to take her home. As he was about to leave, with Poppy all loaded up on the trailer, they dropped the ‘Oh, by the way, she might be pregnant’ bombshell, and five months later, in later October, Poppy’s beautiful baby boy entered the world.

Poppy sure kept her legs crossed for the longest time, though. Back in mid September, Hayley sent me a message to update me on their progress, telling me that Poppy was bagged up and looked like she would foal any day. But baby obviously felt warm and cosy and he decided to wait another month and a half before making an appearance.

I absolutely adored this little guy! He was so soft, and friendly, and full of beans. He loved bouncing about the field, playing with the dog and with Lottie and her older sister, Jessica. If he were mine, I would get absolutely nothing done. I could have just played with him and smooched that kissable nose, all day long! What a total time waster.

Baby donkey doesn’t have a name yet, so I’m sure if you have any ideas, Hayley and family would be grateful for the help.

We also photographed Hayley’s three horses, whilst I was there, so I will get those photos up tomorrow, too. But for now, just enjoy this precious bundle of deliciousness! I know I did.

donkey photography surrey

donkey photographer surrey

donkey photographer surrey

donkey photographer surrey

donkey photographer surrey

donkey photographer surrey

donkey photographer surrey

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Surrey, Equine Photoshoots, My Favourite Stories, Standard Shoots and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hayley, Lottie, Jessica, Poppy & baby donkey – Donkey Photoshoot, Surrey

  1. Pingback: Hayley, Jessica, Lottie, Merlin, Woody & Freddie – Equine Photoshoot, Surrey | Sophie Callahan Photography

Leave a Reply

