Isabella & Vegas – Mud to Makeup Photoshoot, Kent

 

equine photographer kent

My fantabulous makeup fairy, Sherrie, and I, worked with the very beautiful Isabella and her Irish Draught, Vegas, last week. Cool name, right?

I am in love with this shoot. The wintery outfits, the makeover, the beautiful light, gorgeous Isabella and the very handsome Vegas. I just love everything about it. I’ve been busy moving house over the weekend, up to my eyes in boxes and furniture, but I’ve just been itching to get these edited and online.

Photographing grey or light coloured horses always makes me a little giddy. Yes, I know I sound odd. But seriously. Their coats act as natural light reflectors, so when my models are standing snuggled into their horses, the light reflects off of the pale coat and makes their owner’s skin appear bright and flawless.

In addition to the helping hand we get from Vegas’s bright wight coat, add in the winter light, which is soft, low and glowy (Is that a word? It is now!), so makes skin look smoother anyway. Ladies, trust me, winter is the time for photoshoot if you want smooth, beautiful skin in your images.

Couple that with Sherrie’s second-to-none hair and make up skills and you have the perfect combination! Just check out how stunning Isabella looks in these images. And I promise you, her skin hasn’t been touched up! I could have shared a hundred sneak-peaks of this pair.

Mud to Makeup shoots are so much fun! Having Sherrie there to make my clients feel a million dollars before they step in front of my lens, has so many benefits. It makes the client feel more confident in their appearance. It makes an already enjoyable experience even more special. It gives me a chance to sit and chat to them whilst they get made-over, so that we can discuss their wants and ideas for their images, talk about their horse, etc. And from a totally selfish point of view, I just love having Sherrie with me, because we have such a giggle and so much fun on our shoots.

Follow Sherrie Warwick – Hair & Make Up Artist on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sherrie-Warwick-Hair-Make-up-Artist-portfolio/583941688341427?fref=ts

So let’s talk about the star of the show. The very handsome Vegas. He really was quite a character! He was a little snap-happy with those teeth of his and definitely had a wicked sense of humour. I’m sure I saw him smirk a few times, as his teeth skimmed my jumper. Apparently he is a real one-person-horse and has been known to ‘choose’ his human. Isabella loans Vegas from the yard owner and she tells me that he really has to take a liking to you, before he’ll let you ride and handle him. And he’s been known to drop and roll with someone on board, if he decides he isn’t your biggest fan.

But it seems that he adores Isabella, and she him, as he behaved beautifully for her, whilst continuing to try and grab any passers by (or me and Sherrie) with his over-active teeth. I nicknamed him Jaws within five minutes of meeting him! But he was happy to cuddle close and pose with Isabella, without a single grumble. What a cute pair!

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

equine photographer kent

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Kent, Equine Photoshoots, Mud to Makeup Shoots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

