Camilla, Harry, So Smart, Starry Night & Widlake Diamond Dazzler – Equine Photoshoot, Kent

equine photoshoot kent

 

It seems that everywhere I go, if I meet a lovely cob and I ask the question ‘Where did you get him from?’ the answer, nine times out of ten, seems to be ‘From Val and Camilla.’ Camilla Neame and Val Sheehan, of Smart Cobs, are well known in the cob world, and if you’ve ever had any interest at all in the showing of coloured horses or cobs, then the you’ll immediately know the names ‘Starry Night’ and ‘So Smart’. These two horses have certainly earned their legendary status in the showing world. And for those of you who aren’t into showing, here’s a little insight into their impressive credentials of these two showing celebs…

Starry Night, or Basil, as he is known at home, has had too many wins to mention, but most notably, he has won his class at Horse of the Year Show an impressive five times! As well as winning his class at the Royal International Horse Show twice and going Supreme Champion at the BHSA Nat Champs. And just one week before I visited Camilla’s home, he’d taken the win once again at HOYS 2014. Basil, the bay cob, is just such a gentleman that you can’t help but fall head over heels in love with him. I really am going to need to get a bigger car. These cobs just aren’t going to fit into the boot of my Mini.

So Smart, or Smartie, is definitely the more cheeky of these two superstars. He has ‘pickle’ written all over his handsome face. But then, I guess you can get away with pretty much anything when you are the only coloured horse to have ever taken Supreme Horse of the Year in the history of HOYS, in 2006! He has also won his HOYS class a total of four times and won at RIHS twice, too. That’s some CV, right?

And I can’t write this blog without mentioning the gorgeous, very sweet, piebald cob, too. Timmy, ‘Widlake Diamond Dazzler’, is one of Camilla’s personal favourites and came second in his class at HOYS in 2013.

As you can see, these guys horses are definitely amongst the big guns in the showing world. So, as a self confessed coloured and cob fanatic, I was pretty excited when Camilla got in touch about organising a shoot for her, the cobs, and her four year-old son, Harry, after this years’ HOYS. Val, a typical unwilling male, wasn’t interested in having his photo taken and just screwed his nose up in good natured disapproval, when I tried to change his mind, but we certainly had plenty of enthusiastic models. I absolutely adored the homely chaos of their place. What seemed like hundreds of dogs welcomed me as I pulled up, and followed us everywhere as we worked, sneaking into the corners of our shots. And for me, the more animals in the vicinity, the better, so I loved being surrounded by horses, ponies, dogs, ducks and there was even a litter of tiny puppies, too! I’m just wondering how I persuade Camilla to let me move in there…

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

equine photoshoot kent

 

equine photoshoot kent

 

equine photoshoot kent

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Kent, Equine Photoshoots, My Favourite Stories, Standard Shoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

