Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn 2014

equine photographer essex

It has been a truly amazing summer. I feel that I’ve grown as a photographer, I’ve learnt an unbelievable amount, about my business, about light, about myself and about my clients.

Since the beginning of May, I’ve photographed over 150 horses, from foals to veterans, from cobs to Thoroughbreds, and miniatures to heavy horses. I’ve travelled up and down the country and met some wonderful people. And with yesterday being the first day of Autumn, I felt that I should write a blog post to mark the past few months.

You may be sick of hearing this, because I say it a lot, but I completely and utterly love every part of my job. And it’s all down to you guys!! I’m honestly so, so grateful for such wonderful clients. I absolutely love every single one of you and I know that I will keep in touch with many of you for years to come. Having your photographs taken is such a personal experience, and I often feel that I’ve known my clients for years by the time we’re done.

However, even though this summer has been truly awesome, I have to say, I am really looking forward to the change in season. Every season has it’s pros and cons as far as photography is concerned, and I actually really enjoy the colours, textures and outfits that  autumn and winter bring. The sparkling, frosty mornings. The crunchy carpet of orange leaves. The cold, smoky breath. The grey-scale landscape, which make the colours of my subjects really pop. The fluffy, teddy-bear-like ponies. The different clothing choices and layers that my clients experiment with. I love it all.

And in view of this, I have some exciting things coming up on here very soon, including a super new Autumn/Winter offer, and also some fab new blog posts about making the most of your shoot in the colder months. So don’t miss those if you want to know how to create a magical winter photoshoot!

But to mark the end of this beautiful summer, here are a small collection of my Summer 2014 favourites!! Thank you, again, if you were one of those clients that helped make my dream job a reality. For taking a chance on me. For trusting me to capture precious memories of your horses. For giving me such gorgeous animals to make art with. And for welcoming me into your homes and onto your yards. I feel like the luckiest girl in the world to be able to do what I do.

equine photographer essex summer

This entry was posted in Personal Stuff, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

