Kim, Karen, Miley, Chloe & baby Ayla – Equine Photography, Essex

I made my way down the driveway just as the sun was beginning to set, and Kim and her fiance, Jeff made their way over from the farm buildings, to greet me.

Kimberleigh contacted me back in the Spring, to discuss the possibility of a shoot once her mare, Chloe had foaled. She was hesitant to arrange a date before the foal had arrived, because sadly, last year, Chloe lost the baby, just three weeks before the due date. ‘I don’t want to tempt fate,’ she told me. ‘So I’ll wait until the foal is here.’

On 10th May, I received a very happy message from Kim, to let me know that they were thrilled to announce the arrival of a beautiful baby girl, called Ayla. So, we went about sorting out a date for me to come over and photograph Chloe, Ayla and their other horse, Miley. Kim and her mum, Karen, keep their horses at their beautiful farm, which is only about five minutes from my home.

One of my favourite things about this time of year, is working with foals. They are just so full of character and curiosity. They’re such a pleasure to photograph. However, as I’m sure you can imagine, they’re also totally unpredictable! Working with horses doesn’t generally allow for too much structure or planning at the best of side. And a foal shoot usually pretty much consists of putting the mare and foal in a field that they’re comfortable in and just waiting to see if the foal decides to cooperate or not. And then just continuing to photograph, no matter what the decide.

And when the owner tells me that the foal is great to handle, I usually reserve my judgement and wait and see. It’s not that I don’t trust my clients, or that I don’t think they’re honest people, lol, but I do know that foals always have a wicked sense of humour and when you point a camera at them, they suddenly forget all of their well engrained manners and the way they’ve been so well brought up. So, when Kim then told me ‘we were thinking of taking them out onto the open stubble field,’ I have to admit, I was a little nervous. 😉

equine photography essex foal

However, Ayla is without doubt, the most well behaved baby I have ever had the pleasure of working with. She lead out in hand, trotted when asked to trot, stood stock still to pose for her picture… honestly, she was a total angel! Kim and Karen should be extremely proud of how well mannered and sweet their baby girl is.

equine photographer essex

 

equine photographer essex

equine photographer essex foal

 

equine photographer essex

I can’t end this blog without mentioning the other stars of this shoot. Of course, there is the beautiful Chloe. What a sweet, fabulous mumma she is. Ayla is a huge foal, at only three months old, and Chloe has obviously fed and nurtured her well, and she looks fantastic. Then there was old boy, Miley, who sadly lost his eye in an accident just after Karen and Kim got him, many years ago. Although it really doesn’t seem to bother him. And lastly, there were the three Border Collies, Pippa, Roxie and their mum Bonnie.

I really enjoyed my evening with this lovely family, as the sun set on their peaceful, homely farm. And how gorgeous is that soft, glowy, evening light? My favourite time to shoot! Thanks for having me, guys. 🙂

equine photographer essex

 

equine photographer essex

 

equine photographer essex

equine photographer essex

equine photographer essex

equine photographer essex

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Standard Shoots and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

