Amanda & Charlie – Equine Photoshoot, Essex

Amanda smiled and shook her head as she recounted the day that she bought Charlie. After a twenty-six year break from riding, she decided to take the plunge and buy her first horse. And that’s how Charlie came into her life.

“I thought he was going to kill us,” she jokes, (at least, I think she was joking, lol) as she tells me how unsettled he was and what a steep learning curve she suddenly realised she was about to embark on, buying her first horse after so long out of the saddle. “I did wonder what I’d gotten myself in to.”

But two years on, Amanda’s affection for her seven-year-old traditional cob is as plain as day and they’ve obviously found their way together. Now, I’m a little biased here, because facially, Charlie looks so much like my old pony, Freddie, I was a little taken aback at first. He has an almost identical blaze to Fred. So, before I’d even introduced myself to Charlie, I’d already fallen in love with him.

Amanda opted to travel Charlie down to Hockley Woods for her shoot as she was sure whether we’d find many usable spaces at her yard. I love it when a client opts to go to a beautiful location. We decided on an evening shoot, my favourite time of day to work, so we had a gorgeous low light, found a perfect little opening amongst the tall trees and off we went.

Charlie was so good. Apart from deciding it would be a great idea to stuff his mouth with grass, only to realise he’d quite literally bitten off more than he could chew with his bit in, so instead proceeding to spray bright green foam all over Amanda, he really was a little poppet. Just a bit of a mucky poppet. Lol! But he didn’t bat an eyelid at unloading from his horsebox in a strange location, standing and munching on his haynet whilst his mum changed outfits and then wandering around the woods, posing beneath the canopy of trees, all in the name of art. See, I knew I’d love him!

equine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essexequine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essex

equine photography hockley woods essex

This entry was posted in Equine Photography Essex, Equine Photoshoots, Standard Shoots and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

